Pull Over and Stop for Emergency Vehicles
New Jersey law requires all motorists to yield to emergency vehicles when they
sound sirens and/or flashing red and/or blue emergency lights. A motorist should
steer to the extreme right of the roadway, stop and wait for the vehicle to pass.
Afterward, the motorist should keep at least 300 feet behind a signaling emergency
vehicle (N.J.S.A. 39:4-92, 39:3-54.12).
Police cars, fire trucks, ambulances or other emergency vehicles have sirens and
red lights. Private vehicles operated by volunteer fire and rescue squad members
(with emergency vehicle identification) responding to an emergency call use blue
lights. A motorist should never park within 200 feet of a fire department vehicle
in service or drive over a fire hose unless directed to do so by a fire, emergency
rescue or police official.
MVC points and penalties
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) keeps track of your
traffic violations by adding points to your driving record. It will add
two points to your driving record for failing to yield to emergency
vehicles. If you get six or more points on your record in a three-year
period, you will be subject to a surcharge. For an accumulation of 12 or
more points, the MVC will suspend your driver’s license.
The traffic fine for failure to yield the right-of-way to emergency
vehicles is $85. The fine for failure to pull over for an emergency
vehicle or following an emergency vehicle too closely is $85.
The municipal court may also impose additional penalties in the form
of a $50-$200 fine or imprisonment in state prison for up to 15 days.
The judge can also decide to suspend your driver’s license for willful
violation of the law.